Our Blog

5 Surprising Things that Contain Gluten

Gluten Free items are thankfully becoming the norm in most stores now and more and more restaurants are catering for ceoliacs. There’s no doubt it’s becoming a lot easier but even with these signs of progress, there’s still a lot of confusion surrounding what is—and isn’t—actually safe to eat if you’re avoiding gluten.

Gluten can be found in places that are not immediately obvious. Not doing your homework, and relying a gluten-free product label isn’t always best practice.
Since gluten is the protein found in wheat, rye, and barley, it’s expected in breads and cereals. But what about sushi or even your go-to breakfast beverage? So to help you out, below is a list of some items that may surprise you to hear, contain gluten.


Lipstick colour goes straight to your stomach as it fades. Many are made with gluten, so check the packaging and ingredient list before using.

Fish cakes

If you’ve verified it’s real crab meat, it should be fine, right? Wrong.
In order to hold it together there are some ingredients used that contain gluten.

Certain coffees

Some instant coffees and decaffeinated coffees contain cereal fillers, which make them unsafe. Be wary, too, of fancy coffee drinks. Many contain wheat-based flavourings and syrups.

Some pain relievers

Just be careful when choosing any over the counter pain relievers. Always check the label and if in doubt ask the pharmacist.

Soy sauce

Soy sauce is typically made with fermented wheat. Try gluten-free tamari instead.

Share this post

Select your currency
  • No products in the cart.